Princess Leia at the Great Wall of China

Before we left Seattle, we were frantically repacking, trying to get our luggage weight down to the 20kg standard for travel on Asian airlines. As I went through my duffel, I came across something that I had not put in the duffel myself. It was an odd plastic toy consisting of the head of Princess Leia mounted on a space craft with Leia’s head much oversized compared to the space craft. It was an odd spacecraft as well: It had wheels, the kind of wheels that if you draw the toy backwards on a rough surface, the toy will roll forward when released. It appeared that it had been quite some time since the wheel mechanism had worked properly, however.

Kris and I had a suspicion about how Princess Leia might have ended up in my bag that involved my grand niece, Maddy, and enjoyed a chuckle while putting Princess Leia back on Terra Firma. But what do you know, when we unpacked in Beijing, somehow Princess Leia had made it back into my bag! Since Princess Leia had such a determination to travel, I transferred her to my camera bag and she has accompanied us everywhere. So here is a picture of Princess Leia’s visit to the Great Wall of China.

Princess Leia on the Great Wall of China

Princess Leia on the Great Wall of China

Tim

2 Comments

  1. SHANNON said,

    September 22, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU IN ALL YOUR TRAVELS. THE PRINCESS WANTED TO GO BACK TO WHERE SHE WAS CREATED.

    LOVE PRINCESS MADDY

  2. Elliott Jackson said,

    September 22, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    May the Force be with you!!


Leave a Reply

