Photos of Phnom Penh

I’ve uploaded my photos taken in Phnom Penh to my Picasa web site.  I’ve already blogged about some of our experiences in Phnom Penh in my posting that got the whole “How to pronounce Phnom Penh” thing going.

Cambodia appeared to be, by far, the poorest country we visited on our trip. To check this impression, I went to Wikipedia to see the nominal GDP per capita for the countries we visited as compiled by the World Bank for 2007:

US…………………………$45,790

China……………………..$ 2,485

Vietnam………………….$  836

Cambodia………………..$  597

Singapore………………..$35,160

Malaysia………………….$ 6,807

Sri Lanka………………….$ 1,622

I am a bit surprised by these numbers. To me, Vietnam seemed much more prosperous than Cambodia than these numbers would indicate. Of course our view is colored by the small area of each country that we were able to see on our visits.

In my Phnom Penh photos you can see some of the contrasts we experienced there. There are some gorgeous temples and monuments, but there are also scenes of poverty and the aftermath of war.

The largest section of the photos is devoted to the National Museum of Cambodia. Housed in a beautiful colonial era building of Cambodian style are some of the cultural treasures of Cambodia. The photos do not do the collection justice, partly because photography is limited, even if you pay the extra money to take pictures. The issue is that present day Cambodians still revere the deities depicted in many of the statues. So photography was allowed outside the building and (roughly speaking) of items in the portions of the interior courtyard that were not under a roof.

Many of the items displayed were brought from Angkor Wat at least partly to protect them from theft. We agree with the advice to travellers to see Angkor Wat first to appreciate the context in which these statues were found. On the other hand, the National Museum places Angkor Wat in a larger perspective, in relation to the overall history and culture of Cambodia. We are very pleased that we were able to have seen both. We also appreciated the additional perspective gained by seeing the Khmer artifacts in Danang, Vietnam.

Tim

4 Comments

  1. pat hovis said,

    December 29, 2008 at 2:07 am

    Hi Tim and Kris
    Well I finally got caught up with your travels and photos. Your doing an awesome job on both counts.
    I find it very interesting to read the different observation that you both pick up in your own way. The Sari sounds beautiful and a lovely color on you Kris.
    I remember when I was in Japan and we had a traditional tea ceremony. We wore our Kimonos and the laughter of putting a more busted German background in a small Japanese outfit, I almost wet my pants getting into the many robes,under garments and tight everything.
    We had a nice Xmas with the kids. We have had a real white two weeks of snow and ice. Lots of rain and we are happy for the transition to blacktop on the roads. Now the sky is blue and the sun is shine. We are emerging from our house caves to welcome 40 degree weather again.
    Erik and Marcie are planning to go to Thailand in February and maybe Vietnam. They now have the passports. I will pass on your blog , because of all the great information you possess. Thanks for sharing. Mike -santa bought me a Nikon digital -Coolpix so I can enter into the digital age. My brain is re-training. I want to document the process the road tohaving a lung transplant and what it is like. We all have our journeys laid before us, and I think I’d have more fun on your trip. Chat with you later, and HAPPY NEW YEAR TOO! Love Patty, Mike and Zack

  2. December 29, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    […] November 16, 2008 at 4:13 pm (Uncategorized) If you follow this blog (bless you!) you are probably thinking that you have read a post with this title already. But actually this posting discusses my “discovery” about search engines and my blog. But, if you need to know how to pronounce Phnom Penh, I do include that as well. (Added 12/29/08): And if you want to see my pictures taken in Phnom Penh, click here. […]

  3. Anna said,

    February 21, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Your photos are so lovely that I am printing them, framing them and giving them as gifts. Including to myself. Love, Anna

  4. Kristina Replogle Sullivan said,

    July 22, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    A little late after the fact–but the National Museum of Cambodia is an architectural treasure itself. It was designed by one of the Frenchmen who advocated the excavation and preservation of Angkor Wat when Cambodia was part of “French Indochina.”


Leave a Reply

